How Australia is marking the Queen's passing

September 9, 2022 10:02 am in by

Britain's Queen Elizabeth ll left, receives flowers from waiting school children after the Commonwealth Day Service in Sydney, Monday, March 13, 2006. The Queen will open the Melbourne Commonwealth Games on March 15, 2006. (AAP Image/AP POOL/Rob Griffith) NO ARCHIVING
Queen Elizabeth ll during a visit to Australia in 2006 to open the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne (AAP Image/AP POOL/Rob Griffith)



* The governor-general announced the death of Her Majesty The Queen, following advice from Buckingham Palace.

* The prime minister issued a public statement on television and suspended parliament.

* A gun salute will take place at Parliament House in Canberra at dusk to mark the Queen’s death. It will consist of one round for each year of The Queen’s life at 10 second intervals.


* A proclamation ceremony will be held at Parliament House in Canberra. This event is open to the public, subject to public health restrictions in force at the time.

* The governor-general will read the proclamation on the forecourt of Parliament House and this will be followed by a 21-gun salute.

* In Australia, there will not be an official mourning period.

* The Australian national flag should be flown at half-mast until after the day of the funeral in the UK. Direction will be provided to raise the flag for the proclamation.

* Condolence books have been made available at Parliament House and Government House in Canberra. Books of condolence will also be open at Government Houses in each state. Online condolence forms have also been created on the governor-general and Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet websites.

* In Canberra, floral tributes may be left at the forecourt of Parliament House and Government House. Each state and territory has made arrangements for floral tributes. The royal family have noted that instead, Australians may wish to consider making a donation to a charity of their choice.


* The funeral of Her Majesty The Queen will be held at Westminster Abbey attended by Australian representatives.

* A national memorial service will be held following the return of the prime minister and governor-general from London.

* States and territories may hold additional memorial services.

* A national day of mourning is declared by the prime minister, coinciding with the national memorial service. One minute’s silence will be observed at 11am.

* Condolence motions will be given in both the House of Representatives and the Senate on their next respective sitting days following the national memorial service.

© AAP 2022


Keep up to date

Sign up for our newsletter